Seven Years

Seven years ago I promised my daughter that when we returned from our holiday in Samoa that we would replace the curtains in her room and repaint her room. Seven years later, I have finally managed to replace her curtains, repaint her room and replace the carpet. But she is not here to see it.

Seven years ago, Clea was swept from my hand in a tsunami that drowned her.

It is hard to believe that seven years have passed. I still have trouble comprehending the time line. It does not seem possible that I have not seen, heard, touched or smelled my daughter for seven years.

Her brothers are now 12 years old and she would be 14 years old this January.

I wish for the same thing every day. I wish she was not dead. I wish she was my 13 year old daughter instead of my dead six year old daughter.

 

About huntersoledad

Mother of three. Bereaved mother of one. Survivor and victim of 2009 Samoan tsunami. Could be if would be writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seven Years

  1. nurdan says:

    My heart breaks for you…

Leave a Reply

